Tennessee Hunting Licenses
for 2004/2005 season
Note: A Reelfoot Lake Preservtion Permit
is required for hunting on Reelfoot Lake unless you purchase a
licenses, except the Lifetime Sportsman License and specialty licenses,
such as Wheelchair, Veteran, SSI (Supplemental Security Income), and
Blind Fishing licenses, are available from most county clerks, sporting
goods stores, hardware stores, boat docks and other interested merchants
and from all TWRA offices. All license prices, except the Lifetime
Sportsman include an agent's fee.
License Ordering By Phone
The TWRA has a service enabling you to buy hunting and fishing licenses
with a credit card using a toll-free number. You can purchase almost all
TWRA license types. Dial 1-888-814-TWRA (8972) from anywhere in the
United States or Canada, and within minutes you'll have a temporary
license number enabling you to hunt (in season) or fish right away. Your
permanent license will be mailed within 48 hours. Please note, in
addition to the cost of the license, there is an additional $3.95 agent
fee for this service.
Resident licenses can be purchased by:
*Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver's license.
*Persons who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the
genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home.
*Military personnel on active duty in this state and their immediate
families, who reside with them regardless of resident status.
*Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college, or university
for at least six months.
Hunting and Fishing Combination* (Type 001) __________ $21
* Supplemental Licenses
Supplemental Licenses (Types 005, 009, 010, or 011) are required, in
addition to the Hunting and Fishing Combination license, to hunt deer,
bear, boar, turkey and waterfowl. The type of hunting equipment to be
used determines which supplemental license is necessary.
Waterfowl (Type 005)__________ $18
Annual Big Game Gun (Type 009)__________ $18
Annual Big Game Archery (Type 010)_______ $18
Annual Big Game Muzzleloader (Type 011) __________ $18
Junior Hunt/Trap/Fish (Type 002)__________ $8
Ages 13-15. Good for hunting all game, fishing, and trapping. Must be
purchased prior to 16th birthday. Big game nonquota WMA, WMA, and county
quota hunt permits are not covered by this license.
Permanent Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap (Type 166)______ $11
Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when the 65th
birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver's license or proof of age
and residency is required. Special quota and WMA permits will need to be
purchased in addition to this license. The application with proof of age
and residency can be mailed in.
Annual Senior Citizen Permit (Type 167) ______ $41
May be purchased only by holders of a Type 165 or 166 license. It covers
all non-quota permits required by TWRA and allows holders to apply for
quota permits without payment of additional fees.
Permanent Wheelchair Hunting and Fishing (Type 189) ____ $10
Available only by application from the TWRA License Sales Office
(615-781-6585). The application must be accompanied by a doctor's
statement stating that the applicant is permanently confined to a
wheelchair. Covers all license requirements to hunt and fish but holder
must purchase any applicable permits.
Permanent DAV Hunting and Fishing (Type 198) _____ $10
Available only by application from the TWRA License Sales Office for
resident veterans certified by the VA as 30 percent disabled by reason
of war service. Covers all license requirements to hunt and fish but
holder must purchase any applicable permits.
Trapping (Type 019) __________ $18
Lifetime Sportsman ________ Age determines the cost (see below).
An all inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport
fishing without any state supplemental licenses or permits. Call your
local TWRA office for an application, or download an application (see
Type 401 (Under 3 years of age) _____ $200
Type 406 (3 years of age but less than 7 years of age) _____ $400
Type 402 (7 years of age but less than 13 years of age) _____ $600
Type 403 (13 years of age but less than 51 years of age) ____ $1200
Type 404 (51 years of age but less than 65 years of age) _____ $700
Type 405 (65 years of age or older) ______ $200
Click on Lifetime
Sportsman License application information (includes the form to
print and fill out - to mail to TWRA)
Annual Sportsman (Type 004) __________ $101
An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping and sport fishing
without any state supplemental licenses or non-quota permits and allows
holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. Sportsman
licenses can be purchased from all license agents.
To order your Sportsman License or other hunting and fishing licenses by
credit card: Visa or Master Card, call Toll-Free 1-888-814-TWRA (8972).
Please note, in addition to the cost of the license, there is an
additional $3.95 processing fee for credit card orders using the
toll-free number above.
You can order your Sportsman license (must be a TN resident) online by
clicking here: Tennessee
Online Hunting and Fishing License Sales
Junior Hunt/Fish (Type 070)__________ $6
Required for nonresidents ages 13-15. A Type 073 or 074 is required to
hunt big game.
7-Day Hunt-Small Game/Waterfowl (Type 072)__________$30.50
Hunt-Small Game/Waterfowl (Type 071)___ $56
7-Day All Game (Type 074)__________ $105.50
Annual All Game (Type 073)__________ $156
Wildlife Management Area Permits
Everyone who hunts on Wildlife Management Areas is required to have a
WMA permit except the holder of a Lifetime Sportsman License, Sportsman
License and juveniles under age 16 hunting small game and waterfowl. The
juvenile hunters must be accompanied by an adult with a valid WMA
permit. Youths under 10 may not hunt big game on a WMA.
WMA Small Game and Waterfowl (Type 091)__________ $26
1-Day Small Game and Waterfowl (Type 092)__________ $5.50
WMA Small Game only (Type 093)__________ $11
Special Season/WMA Nonquota Big Game (Type 094)__________ $13
Valid for all WMA nonquota big game hunts, including Cherokee.
Cherokee WMA Big Game Nonquota (Type 095)__________ $10
Valid only for Cherokee WMA nonquota big game hunts.
Annual Reelfoot Preservation Permit (Type 089)__________ $11
3-Day Reelfoot Preservation Permit (Type 088)__________ $6.50
1-Day Reelfoot Preservation Permit (Type 090)__________ $2.50
Hunting and fishing license sales, other miscellaneous wildlife revenues
and federal excise taxes make up TWRA's operating funds. Thank you for
buying a hunting and fishing license. Without your support, Tennessee
would not have fish and wildlife management programs.
Federal Duck Stamp - $15
Federal law requires that each waterfowl hunter, age 16 and over carry
on his/her person, in addition to a hunting license and permit, a valid
Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp, (federal duck
stamp), signed in ink across the face. These can be obtained through the
Post Office, National Wildlife Refuge offices, and some discount and
sporting goods stores.
Migratory Bird Permit Required
(Available at all license agents at no charge. HIP survey Type 006).
All persons who hunt migratory game birds (doves, woodcock, rails,
snipe, coots, ducks, or geese) will be required to have in their
possession a Tennessee Migratory Bird Permit (TMBP) in addition to other
required Tennessee licenses and permits, with the following exceptions:
Landowners hunting on their land; disabled veterans; residents of
Tennessee who are 65 or older, Lifetime Sportsman License holders, and
residents of Tennessee under 13 years of age. Military personnel on
leave or furlough will be required to possess the TMBP when hunting
migratory birds even though they are not required to possess a hunting
and fishing license. The TMBP is not required to hunt crows.
Landowner License Exemption
Persons hunting without a license under a farmland owner exemption must
complete and sign a statement, attesting where the property is located
and how this land qualifies for a landowner exemption, before hunting.
This statement must be carried on their person while hunting under the
landowner exemption. Resident landowners and their children hunting on
their parent's land under this exemption are also exempt from Hunter
Education Certification requirements. Click here to download the
Farmland Owner License Exemption Statement (Adobe Acrobat Reader
No License Needed For
*Residents born before March 1, 1926 (To qualify for this exemption, you
must carry proof of your age and residency to show a wildlife officer,
*Military personnel on leave carrying leave papers. A pass does not meet
*Landowners, their spouses, and children, who hunt on farmland which is
owned by said landowners. Landowners, their spouses, and children must
be residents of Tennessee but need not reside on the land. Property
owned by grandparents does not qualify their grandchildren for this
exemption. Also, this license exemption does not apply if the farm land
is owned jointly or in common by unrelated persons.
*Tenants, their spouses, and dependent children who hunt on farmland
owned by an individual or family. Tenants, their spouses, and dependent
children must be residents of Tennessee and must actually reside on the
land and have the permission of the landowner to hunt. A tenant is a
person who, for money, free rent, or other consideration, cares for
farmland. The tenancy must be agricultural in nature.
*First cousins who own farmland jointly or in common may fish and hunt
small game on the farmland. Their children may fish and hunt small game
*Resident and nonresident juveniles under 13. Hunters ages 10-12 need
only a hunter education certificate to hunt.
Misplaced A License?
If you purchased your license through the R.E.A.L. system, you may got
to any R.E.A.L. agent and get a duplicate license. This includes annual
Sportsman Licenses. All duplicate licenses cost $5.00 ($4.00 of that
amount goes to the TWRA and $1.00 goes to the license agent).
***Actual prices may vary from those posted here. For complete
information, visit the...Tennessee
Wildlife Resources Agencies Website.